§1 Key points
- What it is: a capsule supplement, 10 active ingredients, 2 capsules per serving, 30 servings per container. → §3
- Finished formula not trialed: Shilajit Matrix+ as a finished formula has not been tested in a clinical trial. The research described here was conducted on individual ingredients, often at different amounts or in different forms from those in this product. → §4
- Where the human evidence is strongest and weakest: the human research is strongest for the NAD+-precursor and antioxidant-cofactor ingredients (moderate certainty for CoQ10, nicotinamide riboside, PQQ, urolithin A and astaxanthin at the ingredient level) and weakest for shilajit itself, alpha-lipoic acid and spermidine (low certainty), with apigenin resting on laboratory research only. → §2
- Dose honesty: some ingredients are at or within the amounts studied in people (CoQ10, PQQ, nicotinamide riboside, shilajit at its higher studied dose); others are below the amounts where human outcomes were reported (urolithin A, alpha-lipoic acid, spermidine). Where our amount is below the studied range, this dossier says so. → §2
- Safety headline: talk to a healthcare professional before use if you are pregnant or nursing, under 18, take prescription medications, or have surgery scheduled; the black-pepper extract can change how some medications are absorbed. Contains wheat. → §6
- Testing: the current lot (0132025SHB0001147) was third-party tested by NSF Laboratories (ISO/IEC 17025 accredited) and passed — 96 banned adulterants screened with none detected, heavy metals below reporting limits, and microbial safety confirmed. → §7
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
§2 At a glance
| Ingredient (form) | Amount per serving | Research area in healthy adults | Certainty of human evidence | Amounts studied in people (daily) | Our amount vs studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purified shilajit extract (10:1, std. 70% fulvic acids) | 500 mg | Cellular energy production* | Low | 250–500 mg | Within range (at the higher studied dose); different branded extract |
| Urolithin A (from Punica granatum) | 250 mg | Mitochondrial renewal* | Moderate | 10–1,000 mg | Below the range where muscle/mitochondrial outcomes were reported (500–1,000 mg) |
| Coenzyme Q10 (ubiquinol) | 200 mg | Cellular energy production* | Moderate | 90–300 mg | Within range (200 mg studied) |
| Nicotinamide riboside chloride | 150 mg | NAD+ metabolism* | Moderate | 100–1,000 mg | Within range (low end) |
| Alpha-lipoic acid (R-form) | 125 mg | Mitochondrial function* | Low | ~200–2,400 mg (PK at 500–600 mg) | Below range |
| Pyrroloquinoline quinone (disodium) | 20 mg | Mitochondrial and cognitive function* | Moderate | 20 mg | Within range (20 mg studied) |
| Astaxanthin (in 42 mg blend) | see §3 | Antioxidant defenses* | Moderate | 2–8 mg (cited RCTs) | Per-component amount not on label — comparison pending (see Open Items) |
| Black pepper extract (BioPerine®, in 42 mg blend) | see §3 | Absorption of paired ingredients* | Moderate | 5–20 mg piperine | Per-component amount not on label — comparison pending |
| Apigenin (in 42 mg blend) | see §3 | Included as formulation rationale | Preclinical only | No human dose-finding | No established amount |
| Spermidine (wheat germ, in 42 mg blend) | see §3 | Cellular renewal* | Low | 6–40 mg (PK) | Below range; per-component amount not on label — pending |
Caption: "Certainty describes how confident we are in the published human research on the ingredient, not the tested effect of this product. See Methods and the certainty scale (Appendix A of this document)."
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
§3 Formula and label facts
Transcribed from the Supplement Facts panel (label artwork on file). Values marked TBD await confirmation of the physical label revision (see Open Items).
- Serving size: 2 capsules · Servings per container: 30 · Directions (as on label): "TBD — transcribe verbatim from label"
- Because the directions are one serving per day, per-serving and per-day amounts are the same.
- Formula status: patent pending.
Supplement Facts (text version of the panel), per 2-capsule serving:
| Ingredient (as labeled) | Amount per serving | % Daily Value | Form / standardization (as labeled) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purified Shilajit Extract (Asphaltum) | 500 mg | † | 10:1 extract, standardized to 70% fulvic acids; equal to 5,000 mg raw shilajit |
| Urolithin A | 250 mg | † | microbiome-derived, Punica granatum fruit extract |
| Coenzyme Q-10 | 200 mg | † | ubiquinol (reduced) form |
| Nicotinamide Riboside Chloride (NR) | 150 mg | † | vitamin B3 form |
| Alpha-Lipoic Acid | 125 mg | † | R-form |
| Pyrroloquinoline Quinone Disodium Salt (PQQ) | 20 mg | † | standardized to 99% |
| Stellar Biocatalyst Blend | 42 mg | † | proprietary blend (four components below) |
| · Astaxanthin | (in 42 mg blend) | † | Haematococcus pluvialis |
| · Black Pepper Extract (BioPerine®) | (in 42 mg blend) | † | Piper nigrum, 95% piperine |
| · Apigenin | (in 42 mg blend) | † | Chamomilla recutita |
| · Spermidine | (in 42 mg blend) | † | wheat germ |
† Daily Value not established.
- Proprietary blend note: the Stellar Biocatalyst Blend is a 42 mg proprietary blend. Per-component amounts are not listed separately on the current label; they are held on the Certificate of Analysis and will be broken out on the label at the next print revision. (The per-component amounts are not published in this dossier until the batch-formulation record confirms the descending-weight order required by 21 CFR 101.36 — see Open Items.)
- Other ingredients (as labeled): TBD — transcribe from label (e.g., capsule shell).
- Allergen and label statements (as labeled): Contains: Wheat (from spermidine).
- Label warnings (verbatim): "TBD — transcribe from label."
- Ingredient regulatory status (short): documented status per ingredient is recorded in the internal evidence file; nothing is asserted here beyond what is documented.
§4 Evidence by ingredient
Shilajit Matrix+ as a finished formula has not been tested in a clinical trial. The research described here was conducted on individual ingredients, often at different amounts or in different forms from those in this product.
How to read this section: Each ingredient section lists human studies in generally healthy adults, the amount and form studied, what was measured, and who paid for the study where declared. The certainty rating describes the research on the ingredient, not a tested effect of this product.
4.1 Purified shilajit extract (10:1, standardized to 70% fulvic acids, 500 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Low certainty that shilajit supports cellular energy production in generally healthy adults; the single human trial reported an effect only at 500 mg/day and only in a subgroup, using a differently standardized branded extract.
- What it is: Shilajit is a purified mineral-humic exudate that supplies fulvic acids and dibenzo-α-pyrones. Fulvic acids are studied as natural carrier molecules for minerals and other nutrients; dibenzo-α-pyrones are studied for a role in mitochondrial energy metabolism.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [1] | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 63 men | 250 or 500 mg/d, branded purified shilajit | 8 weeks | Maximal muscular strength after a fatiguing protocol (functional) | 500 mg/d preserved maximal strength after fatigue vs placebo in the stronger-half subgroup; 250 mg/d did not differ from placebo | not stated |
| [2] | Narrative review (safety + efficacy) | n/a | n/a | n/a | Constituents and safety (biomarker/context) | Identifies dibenzo-α-pyrones and fulvic acids as key constituents; notes few well-controlled human studies exist | not stated |
| [3] | Formulation/excipient study (non-clinical) | n/a (peat-derived fulvic acid, not shilajit) | n/a | n/a | Fulvic acid as a functional excipient (biomarker/mechanism) | Fulvic acid improved solubility/bioavailability of poorly soluble compounds — supports the "carrier" mechanism only | not stated |
- Certainty: Low. One small RCT with a subgroup-only effect (imprecision, risk of bias), a differently standardized branded extract (indirectness of form), and a supporting review; the excipient study is non-clinical.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 250–500 mg/day; ours 500 mg per serving (500 mg/day) → Within range, at the higher of the two studied doses. Form: Different (branded extract standardized differently from ours).
- Mixed or null findings: in the one RCT, 250 mg/day did not differ from placebo, and the 500 mg effect was limited to a subgroup.
- What is not known: effects at our exact extract standardization, long-term use, and effects in combination with the other ingredients here.
4.2 Urolithin A (from Punica granatum, 250 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty that urolithin A supports mitochondrial renewal at the ingredient level; our 250 mg/day is inside the studied range but below the 500–1,000 mg/day at which muscle and mitochondrial-gene outcomes were reported.
- What it is: Urolithin A is produced by gut bacteria from pomegranate ellagitannins. It activates mitophagy — the process cells use to clear out and recycle worn mitochondria.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [4] | Clinical trial (first-in-human), older adults | healthy elderly | single + 4-wk multiple doses (effects at 500 & 1,000 mg), purified UA | up to 4 weeks | Safety, plasma acylcarnitines, muscle mitochondrial gene expression (biomarker) | Favorable safety; bioavailable at all doses; 500 & 1,000 mg for 4 wk changed acylcarnitines and muscle mitochondrial gene expression | industry (Amazentis) |
| [5] | Randomized controlled trial, middle-aged adults | middle-aged adults | two doses (values not stated in abstract — confirm from full text), purified UA | 4 months | Muscle strength, peak power, biomarkers (functional + biomarker) | ~12% muscle-strength improvement; no significant change in the primary endpoint (peak power); lower plasma acylcarnitines and CRP | industry |
| [6] | Randomized controlled trial, older adults 65–90 | older adults | 1,000 mg/d, purified UA | 4 months | Muscle endurance, 6-min walk, maximal ATP (functional + biomarker) | Improved muscle endurance vs placebo; no change in maximal ATP | industry |
| [7] | Systematic review (5 human studies, n≈250) | healthy participants | 10–1,000 mg/d | varies | Mitochondrial/autophagy markers, ATP (biomarker) | Dose-dependent effects; up-regulated mitochondrial and autophagy markers; no change in maximal ATP | n/a |
- Certainty: Moderate. Several human RCTs plus a systematic review point the same way on biomarkers, but functional primary endpoints are mixed and much of the benefit is at higher doses than ours (indirectness on dose).
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 10–1,000 mg/day; ours 250 mg per serving → Below the range where muscle/mitochondrial outcomes were reported. Form: Not reported / pending — trials used purified urolithin A; our source is described as a Punica granatum extract, and the identity/purity of the 250 mg is pending supplier confirmation (see Open Items).
- Mixed or null findings: peak power (Singh, primary endpoint) and maximal ATP production (Liu; systematic review) did not change.
- What is not known: effects at 250 mg/day specifically, and whether our source delivers purified urolithin A at the stated amount.
4.3 Coenzyme Q10 (ubiquinol, 200 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty that ubiquinol raises blood CoQ10 and a measure of mitochondrial coupling efficiency (biomarkers) in healthy adults; human studies did not show a change in exercise tolerance.
- What it is: Coenzyme Q10 carries electrons within the mitochondrial electron-transport chain, the step where most cellular ATP is produced. Ubiquinol is its reduced (electron-carrying) form.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [8] | Crossover, healthy subjects | 12 healthy adults | 200 mg/d ubiquinol vs 200 mg ubiquinone | 4 weeks each | Plasma total CoQ10 (biomarker) | Ubiquinol 200 mg/d raised plasma CoQ10 more than the same dose of ubiquinone | not stated |
| [9] | Randomized controlled trial, active males | 54 healthy active males | 300 mg/d ubiquinol | 6 weeks | Mitochondrial respiratory function, exercise capacity (biomarker + functional) | Increased plasma CoQ10 and oxidative-phosphorylation coupling efficiency; no change in exercise tolerance or VO₂ kinetics | not stated |
| [10] | Double-blind, healthy men | healthy men | CoQ10 120 mg + 5 mg piperine | 21 days | Plasma CoQ10 AUC (biomarker) | ~30% greater plasma CoQ10 AUC with piperine vs CoQ10 alone; single-dose and 14-day differences were not significant | not stated |
- Certainty: Moderate. Consistent human data on absorption and a coupling-efficiency biomarker; functional exercise outcomes were null, and a biomarker change alone cannot support more than moderate certainty for a functional statement.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 90–300 mg/day; ours 200 mg per serving → Within range (200 mg is a directly studied dose). Form: Same (ubiquinol).
- Mixed or null findings: exercise tolerance and VO₂ kinetics did not change [9].
- What is not known: functional effects at 200 mg/day in generally healthy adults.
4.4 Nicotinamide riboside chloride (150 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty that nicotinamide riboside contributes to NAD+ metabolism — human trials raise the blood and muscle NAD+ metabolome dose-dependently; our 150 mg sits at the low end of the studied range.
- What it is: Nicotinamide riboside is a form of vitamin B3 that the body converts to NAD+, a coenzyme used by mitochondrial enzymes and by sirtuins.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [11] | Pharmacokinetic (single dose), humans + mice | healthy adults | 100 / 300 / 1,000 mg single doses | single dose | Blood NAD+ metabolome (biomarker) | Dose-dependent increases across 100–1,000 mg | not stated |
| [12] | Randomized crossover, middle-aged/older adults | healthy middle-aged/older | dose not stated in abstract (confirm from full text) | 2 × 6 weeks | NAD+ metabolism, tolerability (biomarker) | Well tolerated; stimulated NAD+ metabolism | not stated |
| [13] | Randomized crossover, aged men | 12 aged men | 1 g/d | 21 days | Skeletal-muscle NAD+ metabolome, bioenergetics (biomarker) | Raised the muscle NAD+ metabolome; did not change mitochondrial bioenergetics | not stated |
- Certainty: Moderate. Consistent human evidence that NR raises NAD+ (the pathway the claim names), with clear dose-response; downgraded for our low dose, short durations and the null bioenergetics result.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 100–1,000 mg/day; ours 150 mg per serving → Within range (low end). Form: Same (nicotinamide riboside chloride).
- Mixed or null findings: raising the muscle NAD+ metabolome did not change mitochondrial bioenergetics [13].
- What is not known: functional effects at 150 mg/day.
4.5 Alpha-lipoic acid (R-form, 125 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Low certainty at our amount; alpha-lipoic acid is a mitochondrial-enzyme cofactor, but human studies use much higher amounts than the 125 mg here, and the evidence at our dose is indirect.
- What it is: Alpha-lipoic acid is a cofactor for mitochondrial enzyme complexes (the pyruvate dehydrogenase complex prefers the R-form) and takes part in recycling other antioxidants, including glutathione.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [14] | Narrative review | n/a | n/a | n/a | Mechanisms (mechanism/context) | Radical scavenging, metal chelation, glutathione restoration, Nrf2 activation | not stated |
| [15] | Enzyme biochemistry | n/a | n/a | n/a | Enzyme kinetics (mechanism) | The pyruvate dehydrogenase complex reacts ~24× faster with R-lipoic acid than the S-enantiomer | not stated |
| [16] | Pharmacokinetic pilot, young vs older adults | healthy adults | 500 mg single dose | single dose | Absorption of R- vs R,S-lipoic acid (biomarker) | Compared absorption; more variable in older adults | not stated |
| [17] | Pharmacokinetic, healthy adults | 12 healthy adults | 600 mg as sodium R-lipoate | single dose | Plasma PK (biomarker) | Characterized PK; free R-lipoic acid described as unstable and poorly absorbed | not stated |
| [18] | In vitro (cell culture) | n/a | n/a | n/a | R vs S activity (mechanism) | Differential activity of R vs S enantiomers in cells | not stated |
- Certainty: Low. Mechanistic and pharmacokinetic evidence rather than functional trials at our amount; strong indirectness on dose (our 125 mg is well below the amounts used in the human literature).
- Our amount vs studied amounts: the human literature commonly uses ~200–2,400 mg/day (PK studies 500–600 mg); ours 125 mg per serving → Below range. This is a supporting cofactor amount inside a combined formula; we do not claim it reproduces higher-dose results. Form: Not reported / pending — whether the ingredient is free R-lipoic acid or a sodium R-lipoate salt is pending supplier confirmation (see Open Items).
- Mixed or null findings: none identified in our search as of 2026-09-22 for functional outcomes at this amount.
- What is not known: functional effects at 125 mg/day, and the stability/absorption of our specific form.
4.6 Pyrroloquinoline quinone disodium salt (PQQ, 20 mg per serving)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty at the ingredient level; two human RCTs used the same 20 mg/day dose as this product, with mixed functional results.
- What it is: PQQ is a redox cofactor. In humans it has been reported to raise PGC-1α protein, a regulator of mitochondrial biogenesis, and to change markers of mitochondria-related metabolism.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [19] | Randomized controlled trial, adults 20–65 | adults 20–65 | 20 mg/d PQQ disodium | 12 weeks | Memory and cognitive measures (functional) | Improved composite and verbal memory at 12 weeks; younger adults improved on flexibility/processing speed at 8 weeks | not stated |
| [20] | Randomized controlled trial, untrained men | 23 untrained men | 20 mg/d + endurance training | 6 weeks | Aerobic performance, PGC-1α (functional + biomarker) | No ergogenic effect on aerobic performance; PGC-1α protein rose vs placebo | not stated |
| [21] | Crossover, healthy adults | 10 adults | 0.2–0.3 mg/kg | crossover | Inflammation and mitochondria-related metabolism (biomarker) | Changed indices of antioxidant potential and mitochondria-related metabolism | not stated |
- Certainty: Moderate. Two small RCTs at our exact dose, but small samples and mixed functional results (memory benefit in one; no ergogenic effect in the other).
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 20 mg/day; ours 20 mg per serving → Within range (matches the studied dose). Form: Same (PQQ disodium salt).
- Mixed or null findings: no ergogenic effect on aerobic performance [20].
- What is not known: durability of the cognitive findings and effects in a general adult population over the long term.
4.7 Astaxanthin (Haematococcus pluvialis, within the 42 mg Stellar Biocatalyst Blend)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty at the ingredient level that astaxanthin helps support the body's antioxidant defenses (measured as lower oxidative-stress biomarkers) in healthy adults.
- What it is: Astaxanthin is a carotenoid that spans cell membranes and acts as a lipid-phase antioxidant.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [22] | Randomized controlled trial, young women | young women | 2 or 8 mg/d | 8 weeks | DNA-damage biomarker, immune measures (biomarker) | Lowered a DNA-damage biomarker; enhanced several immune-response measures | not stated |
| [23] | Randomized controlled trial, healthy men 19–33 | healthy men | 8 mg/d | 3 months | Lipid-peroxidation markers (biomarker) | Raised plasma astaxanthin; reduced lipid-peroxidation markers | not stated |
| [24] | Mini-review | n/a | n/a | n/a | Antioxidant mechanism (context) | Reviews astaxanthin and oxidative-stress-related mitochondrial function | n/a |
- Certainty: Moderate. A few small human RCTs consistently lower antioxidant/oxidative-stress biomarkers, an outcome appropriate to the claim; downgraded for small samples and biomarker-only endpoints.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: the cited human RCTs used 2–8 mg/day (Park 2010: 2 or 8 mg; Karppi 2007: 8 mg). The per-component amount inside the 42 mg proprietary blend is not listed on the label, so an amount-vs-studied comparison is pending the batch-formulation record (see Open Items). Form: Same (Haematococcus pluvialis astaxanthin).
- Mixed or null findings: none identified in our search as of 2026-09-22 for the antioxidant-biomarker outcome.
- What is not known: the exact amount delivered per serving, pending disclosure of the blend breakdown.
4.8 Black pepper extract (BioPerine®, Piper nigrum, 95% piperine, within the 42 mg blend)
- Short answer: Moderate certainty that piperine supports the absorption of the ingredients it is paired with in humans; one study used the same CoQ10 pairing found in this formula.
- What it is: Piperine, the main alkaloid in black pepper, inhibits intestinal glucuronidation (a step that deactivates many nutrients before absorption) and can increase the absorption of nutrients taken with it.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [25] | Pharmacokinetic, human + rat | human volunteers | 20 mg piperine with 2 g curcumin | acute | Curcumin bioavailability (biomarker) | 20 mg piperine markedly increased curcumin bioavailability | not stated |
| [10] | Double-blind, healthy men | healthy men | 5 mg piperine with CoQ10 | 21 days | Plasma CoQ10 AUC (biomarker) | ~30% greater plasma CoQ10 AUC vs CoQ10 alone | not stated |
| [26] | Narrative review | n/a | n/a | n/a | Piperine properties/methods (context) | Characteristics, biological properties and analytical methods of piperine | n/a |
- Certainty: Moderate. Consistent human PK evidence that piperine raises co-administered nutrient absorption, including the CoQ10 pairing used here; downgraded for small studies and biomarker-only endpoints.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: studied 5–20 mg piperine/day. The per-component amount inside the 42 mg blend is not listed on the label; an amount-vs-studied comparison is pending the batch-formulation record. Form: Same (standardized 95% piperine).
- Mixed or null findings: in the CoQ10 study, single-dose and 14-day differences were not significant [10].
- What is not known: the exact piperine amount delivered per serving.
4.9 Apigenin (Chamomilla recutita, within the 42 mg blend)
- Short answer: No product-level claim. The reason apigenin is included rests on laboratory research only.
- What it is: Apigenin is a flavone found in chamomile and parsley. In cell and animal research it inhibits CD38, the main NAD+-consuming enzyme, which is why it sits beside nicotinamide riboside in this formula.
- Laboratory and animal research (context only):
| Ref | Design | People studied | Amount and form | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [27] | Narrative review | n/a | n/a | NAD+/CD38, sleep and aging research (mechanism) | In mice, apigenin raises NAD+ by inhibiting CD38; human data come mainly from chamomile-extract studies and dietary-intake cohorts | n/a |
| [28] | Narrative review (ADME/PK) | n/a | n/a | Absorption/metabolism (mechanism) | Apigenin's oral bioavailability is limited | n/a |
| [29] | In vitro (human cells) | cell culture | cell concentrations | NAD+ level, CD38 activity (mechanism) | Raised NAD+ and inhibited CD38 activity in a cell model | not stated |
- Certainty: Preclinical only. The CD38/NAD+ work is in cells and mice; this search found no human trial of isolated apigenin on NAD+ at any dose, and oral absorption is limited. Apigenin is presented as formulation rationale, not as an outcome.
- Our amount vs studied amounts: No established amount — no human dose-finding data. The per-component amount is not listed on the label.
- What is not known: whether oral apigenin at the amount used affects NAD+ metabolism in people.
4.10 Spermidine (wheat germ, within the 42 mg blend)
- Short answer: Low certainty at our amount; spermidine induces autophagy in laboratory research, but human pharmacokinetic studies suggest amounts at or below 15 mg/day may be too low to raise blood spermidine, and our amount is below that.
- What it is: Spermidine is a polyamine found in wheat germ, soybeans and aged cheese. It induces autophagy — the cell's recycling system — and is studied alongside urolithin A for complementary roles in autophagy and mitophagy.
- Human studies relevant to healthy adults:
| Ref | Design | People studied | Daily amount and form | Duration | What was measured | What was found | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [30] | Narrative review | n/a | n/a | n/a | Autophagy/mitophagy roles (mechanism) | Distinct roles of urolithin A (mitophagy) and spermidine (autophagy) for supplementation | n/a |
| [31] | Randomized crossover PK, healthy adults | 12 healthy adults | 15 mg/d | 5 days | Plasma/saliva spermidine (biomarker) | Raised plasma spermine, not spermidine; short-term effects judged unlikely below 15 mg/d | not stated |
| [32] | Randomized controlled trial, older men | 37 men 50–70 | 40 mg/d | 28 days | Circulating polyamines, safety (biomarker + safety) | Safe and well tolerated; minimal change in circulating polyamines | not stated |
- Certainty: Low. The functional mechanism is preclinical; human PK data suggest our amount is likely below the level needed to raise blood spermidine (indirectness and imprecision on dose).
- Our amount vs studied amounts: human PK studies used 15–40 mg/day; ours is within the 42 mg blend and, on the manufacturer's formulation, below those amounts — but the per-component amount is not on the label and is pending (see Open Items). Whether "spermidine" here is spermidine itself or wheat-germ extract is also pending. Form: Not reported / pending.
- Mixed or null findings: 15 mg/day did not raise plasma spermidine [31]; 40 mg/day produced minimal change in circulating polyamines [32].
- What is not known: the exact amount delivered, its source (spermidine vs wheat-germ extract), and effects at our amount.
§5 How the ingredients fit together
This section explains why these ingredients were combined. It describes a formulation rationale, not a demonstrated effect of the combination.
Shilajit Matrix+ groups its ingredients around several steps that cells use to make and maintain energy:
- Electron-transport efficiency: coenzyme Q10 (ubiquinol) is studied for its role carrying electrons in the mitochondrial electron-transport chain; black-pepper extract is included for its studied role in the absorption of co-taken nutrients such as CoQ10.
- The NAD+ pool: nicotinamide riboside is studied as a precursor the body converts to NAD+; apigenin is included for its laboratory-studied role in the CD38/NAD+ pathway (preclinical rationale only).
- Mitochondrial biogenesis: PQQ is studied for its role in markers of mitochondrial biogenesis (PGC-1α).
- Mitophagy and autophagy (renewal): urolithin A is studied for its role in mitophagy and spermidine for its role in autophagy — complementary "recycling" pathways.
- Antioxidant defense: astaxanthin and alpha-lipoic acid are studied for roles in the body's antioxidant systems; shilajit supplies fulvic acids studied as carrier molecules.
The word "synergy" is not used as a fact: the combined formula has not been tested. Each ingredient's evidence and dose position are given in §4.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
§6 Safety
Summary: the individual ingredients have generally been well tolerated in the human studies cited here; the most important practical points are the black-pepper extract's effect on medication absorption, the wheat allergen, and the general cautions below.
Per-ingredient safety table:
| Ingredient | Established upper limit (source) | Our daily amount | Side effects reported in human studies | Known interactions (by drug class / mechanism) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shilajit extract | None established | 500 mg | Generally well tolerated in the cited studies; purity matters (see testing, §7) | None well established; purified, tested material is used to limit heavy-metal exposure |
| Urolithin A | None established | 250 mg | Favorable safety profile reported [4] | None well established |
| Coenzyme Q10 (ubiquinol) | None established | 200 mg | Well tolerated at 90–300 mg | May interact with anticoagulant (blood-thinner) medications — check with a clinician |
| Nicotinamide riboside | None established | 150 mg | Well tolerated at up to 1,000 mg [12] | None well established |
| Alpha-lipoic acid | None established | 125 mg | Generally well tolerated | May affect blood-sugar handling — people managing blood sugar or taking related medication should consult a clinician |
| PQQ (disodium) | None established | 20 mg | Well tolerated at 20 mg in the cited RCTs | None well established |
| Astaxanthin | None established | see §3 | Well tolerated at 2–8 mg (cited RCTs) | None well established |
| Black pepper extract (piperine) | None established | see §3 | Well tolerated at food-relevant amounts | Piperine can change how some medications are absorbed and metabolized (it inhibits intestinal glucuronidation and can affect drug-metabolizing enzymes) — talk to a clinician if you take prescription medication |
| Apigenin | None established | see §3 | Limited human data | Flavonoids may affect drug-metabolizing enzymes — consult a clinician if you take prescription medication |
| Spermidine (wheat germ) | None established | see §3 | Safe/well tolerated at 15–40 mg [31][32] | None well established; contains wheat |
- Talk to a healthcare professional before use if you: are pregnant or nursing; are under 18; take prescription medications (in particular blood thinners, or medicines whose absorption or metabolism could be affected by piperine); have a scheduled surgery.
- Allergens: Contains: Wheat (from spermidine). Label warnings: TBD — transcribe verbatim from the label.
- California Proposition 65: botanical and mineral ingredients can carry trace heavy metals. For the tested lot (0132025SHB0001147), the per-day intake of lead, arsenic, cadmium and mercury is below the applicable reference limits (California Prop 65 lead MADL 0.5 µg/day; see §7). Any required Prop 65 statement follows counsel's direction.
- Report a problem: contact Stellar Health Labs (contact TBD); adverse events can also be reported to FDA MedWatch (https://www.fda.gov/safety/medwatch).
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
§7 Quality and lab testing
Every production lot is third-party tested by an independent, ISO/IEC 17025 accredited laboratory. Results are shown here in summary; full lot results are available by lot number on request.
- Lot: 0132025SHB0001147 · Expiration: 07/2027 · Tested: August 2025 (samples received 2025-08-10; report issued 2025-09-05) · Report: NSF Laboratories S/N 130651 (Lab Project AZN-1703; replaces report #130574).
- Laboratory: NSF Laboratories, Ann Arbor, MI, USA — ISO/IEC 17025 accredited. Scope tested for this lot: banned-adulterant screen (LC-HRMS, 96 analytes), heavy metals (ICP-MS), and microbial contaminants (USP methods).
- Naming note: NSF is named only as the testing laboratory. This product is third-party tested by NSF; it does not carry an NSF certification mark, and none is claimed. The NSF report states it "does not represent NSF Certification or authorization to use the NSF Mark."
Safety screen — lot 0132025SHB0001147 (summary):
- Banned adulterants (96 screened): none detected — Pass
- Heavy metals (lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury): below reporting limits — Pass
- Microbial safety (Salmonella, S. aureus, E. coli, and total counts): within limits — Pass
- Overall NSF evaluation: Pass
For California Proposition 65, the per-day lead intake for this lot is below the 0.5 µg/day lead reference limit (MADL); arsenic, cadmium and mercury are likewise below their reference limits.
- Not tested on this lot: per-active potency — the NSF report is a safety screen (adulterants, heavy metals, microbials) and carries no actives or fulvic-acid assay. Fulvic-acid content (label 70%; 70.1% on the current lot) and the potency of the ten actives are documented on the manufacturer's identity/potency certificate. A certificate of analysis reports results for the lot and tests listed; it does not show how the product will affect any individual.
- Testing program: each production lot is third-party tested; lot-specific results are available by lot number on request.
§8 Manufacturing
- Made by: manufactured in an FDA-registered cGMP facility in Texas, USA, from globally sourced ingredients, operating under FDA's dietary-supplement current Good Manufacturing Practice rule (21 CFR Part 111). The manufacturer's name is held confidential; the facility is FDA-registered (Josh-confirmed 2026-09-23). "FDA-registered" describes facility registration only — it is not FDA approval or endorsement of the product, and no such claim is made.
- Facility certifications (issuer · standard · certificate # · expiry): cGMP verified; specific facility certificate documentation is pending on file (see Open Items).
- Key raw materials: ingredient sourcing/standardization is documented internally where available; the branded black-pepper extract is BioPerine® (standardized to 95% piperine).
- Packaged in / country of manufacture: USA.
§9 Limitations of this dossier
Shilajit Matrix+ as a finished formula has not been tested in a clinical trial. The research described here was conducted on individual ingredients, often at different amounts or in different forms from those in this product.
- Indirectness: several ingredients were studied at different amounts or in different forms than those used here — most notably alpha-lipoic acid, urolithin A and spermidine, where our amount is below the studied range, and shilajit, where the trial used a differently standardized extract.
- Blend disclosure: the four ingredients inside the 42 mg Stellar Biocatalyst Blend are not individually quantified on the current label, so per-serving amounts for astaxanthin, black-pepper extract, apigenin and spermidine — and the dose-vs-studied comparison for each — cannot yet be stated publicly.
- Evidence gaps named in §4: null functional endpoints (peak power for urolithin A; exercise tolerance for CoQ10; aerobic performance for PQQ; bioenergetics for nicotinamide riboside), and preclinical-only evidence for apigenin.
- Funding concentration: much of the urolithin A evidence is industry-funded, as noted in the tables.
- Individual variation: responses to any ingredient vary from person to person.
- Scope: this dossier covers research relevant to normal structure and function in generally healthy adults only.
- Testing scope: the current lot passed an independent NSF safety screen (heavy metals, microbials, 96-adulterant panel — §7), but that screen carries no per-active potency or fulvic-acid assay; the manufacturer's identity/potency certificate is not yet published, so ingredient potencies are stated from the label specification, not a published lot assay.
§10 Methods: how this dossier was prepared
- Search: PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, ClinicalTrials.gov, NIH ODS, EFSA and Health Canada NNHP were searched on 2026-09-22 (search strings and counts are kept on file in the internal evidence file). Screening moved from records identified → screened → included in this dossier, with disease-population and disease-titled records routed to the internal file.
- Inclusion: human studies of the same ingredient (and, where possible, the same form) in generally healthy adults, reporting outcomes related to normal structure or function; systematic reviews and meta-analyses first. Laboratory and animal research is labeled as such.
- Verification: every reference was checked against PubMed for existence, bibliographic accuracy, retraction status and disease-title flag using `verify_pmids.py`; every cited PMID returned status OK-MACHINE on 2026-09-23 and was re-verified OK-MACHINE for the v1.0.1 refresh, and each was read for relevance to the ingredient and statement it supports.
- AI-assistance line: Parts of this dossier were drafted with AI assistance. Every reference was verified against PubMed and read by the preparer before publication.
- Certainty ratings: an adaptation of the GRADE approach (Appendix A). There is no overall product score.
- Conflicts of interest: Stellar Health Labs makes and sells this product. Reviewer compensation, if a reviewer is named in a later version, is disclosed with the byline.
- Corrections: errors are corrected promptly and recorded in the version history (§13). Report an error: contact TBD.
§11 Common questions
- How many ingredients are in Shilajit Matrix+, and how much do I take? It has 10 active ingredients; the serving is 2 capsules, and there are 30 servings per container. → §3
- Has Shilajit Matrix+ itself been clinically tested? No. The finished formula has not been tested in a clinical trial; the research here is on the individual ingredients, often at different amounts or forms. → §4
- Is the amount of each ingredient the same as in the studies? For some (coenzyme Q10, PQQ, nicotinamide riboside, and shilajit at its higher studied dose) our amount is within the studied range; for others (urolithin A, alpha-lipoic acid, spermidine) it is below the range where human outcomes were reported. We say which is which in §2 and §4.
- What was this lot tested for? The current lot (0132025SHB0001147) was third-party tested by NSF Laboratories and passed: 96 banned adulterants screened with none detected, heavy metals below reporting limits, and microbial safety confirmed. It was not a potency assay. Lot results are available by lot number on request. → §7
- Does it contain allergens? Yes — it contains wheat (from spermidine). → §3
- Who should not take it? Talk to a healthcare professional first if you are pregnant or nursing, under 18, take prescription medication, or have surgery scheduled. → §6
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
§12 References
Numbered in order of first citation. Every entry links to PubMed and to the DOI where available. Only citations that passed the public-citation filter appear here.
- Keller JL, et al. The effects of Shilajit supplementation on fatigue-induced decreases in muscular strength and serum hydroxyproline levels. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2019;16(1):3. doi:10.1186/s12970-019-0270-2 PMID: 30728074. — Used in: §4.1.
- Stohs SJ, et al. Safety and efficacy of shilajit (mumie, moomiyo). Phytother Res. 2014;28(4):475–479. doi:10.1002/ptr.5018 PMID: 23733436. — Used in: §4.1.
- Gnananath K, et al. Exploration of fulvic acid as a functional excipient in line with the regulatory requirement. Environ Res. 2020;187:109642. doi:10.1016/j.envres.2020.109642 PMID: 32445947. — Used in: §4.1.
- Andreux PA, et al. The mitophagy activator urolithin A is safe and induces a molecular signature of improved mitochondrial and cellular health in humans. Nat Metab. 2019;1(6):595–603. doi:10.1038/s42255-019-0073-4 PMID: 32694802. — Used in: §4.2. Funding: industry.
- Singh A, et al. Urolithin A improves muscle strength, exercise performance, and biomarkers of mitochondrial health in a randomized trial in middle-aged adults. Cell Rep Med. 2022;3(5):100633. doi:10.1016/j.xcrm.2022.100633 PMID: 35584623. — Used in: §4.2. Funding: industry.
- Liu S, et al. Effect of urolithin A supplementation on muscle endurance and mitochondrial health in older adults: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA Netw Open. 2022;5(1):e2144279. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2021.44279 PMID: 35050355. — Used in: §4.2. Funding: industry.
- Kuerec AH, et al. Targeting aging with urolithin A in humans: a systematic review. Ageing Res Rev. 2024;100:102406. doi:10.1016/j.arr.2024.102406 PMID: 39002645. — Used in: §4.2.
- Langsjoen PH, et al. Comparison study of plasma coenzyme Q10 levels in healthy subjects supplemented with ubiquinol versus ubiquinone. Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev. 2014;3(1):13–17. doi:10.1002/cpdd.73 PMID: 27128225. — Used in: §4.3.
- Acton JP, et al. Effect of six weeks ubiquinol supplementation on mitochondrial respiratory function and exercise capacity in healthy males. Eur J Appl Physiol. 2026. doi:10.1007/s00421-026-06275-w PMID: 42249931. — Used in: §4.3.
- Badmaev V, et al. Piperine derived from black pepper increases the plasma levels of coenzyme Q10 following oral supplementation. J Nutr Biochem. 2000;11(2):109–113. doi:10.1016/s0955-2863(99)00074-1 PMID: 10715596. — Used in: §4.3, §4.8.
- Trammell SA, et al. Nicotinamide riboside is uniquely and orally bioavailable in mice and humans. Nat Commun. 2016;7:12948. doi:10.1038/ncomms12948 PMID: 27721479. — Used in: §4.4.
- Martens CR, et al. Chronic nicotinamide riboside supplementation is well-tolerated and elevates NAD+ in healthy middle-aged and older adults. Nat Commun. 2018;9(1):1286. doi:10.1038/s41467-018-03421-7 PMID: 29599478. — Used in: §4.4.
- Elhassan YS, et al. Nicotinamide riboside augments the aged human skeletal muscle NAD+ metabolome and induces transcriptomic and anti-inflammatory signatures. Cell Rep. 2019;28(7):1717–1728.e6. doi:10.1016/j.celrep.2019.07.043 PMID: 31412242. — Used in: §4.4.
- Shay KP, et al. Alpha-lipoic acid as a dietary supplement: molecular mechanisms and therapeutic potential. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2009;1790(10):1149–1160. doi:10.1016/j.bbagen.2009.07.026 PMID: 19664690. — Used in: §4.5.
- Löffelhardt S, et al. Interaction of alpha-lipoic acid enantiomers and homologues with the enzyme components of the mammalian pyruvate dehydrogenase complex. Biochem Pharmacol. 1995;50(5):637–646. doi:10.1016/0006-2952(95)00175-y PMID: 7669066. — Used in: §4.5.
- Keith DJ, et al. Age and gender dependent bioavailability of R- and R,S-α-lipoic acid: a pilot study. Pharmacol Res. 2012;66(3):199–206. doi:10.1016/j.phrs.2012.05.002 PMID: 22609537. — Used in: §4.5.
- Carlson DA, et al. The plasma pharmacokinetics of R-(+)-lipoic acid administered as sodium R-(+)-lipoate to healthy human subjects. Altern Med Rev. 2007;12(4):343–351. PMID: 18069903. — Used in: §4.5.
- Smith JR, et al. Differential activity of lipoic acid enantiomers in cell culture. J Herb Pharmacother. 2005;5(3):43–54. PMID: 16520297. — Used in: §4.5.
- Tamakoshi M, et al. Pyrroloquinoline quinone disodium salt improves brain function in both younger and older adults. Food Funct. 2023;14(5):2496–2509. doi:10.1039/d2fo01515c PMID: 36807425. — Used in: §4.6.
- Hwang PS, et al. Effects of pyrroloquinoline quinone (PQQ) supplementation on aerobic exercise performance and indices of mitochondrial biogenesis in untrained men. J Am Coll Nutr. 2020;39(6):547–556. doi:10.1080/07315724.2019.1705203 PMID: 31860387. — Used in: §4.6.
- Harris CB, et al. Dietary pyrroloquinoline quinone (PQQ) alters indicators of inflammation and mitochondrial-related metabolism in human subjects. J Nutr Biochem. 2013;24(12):2076–2084. doi:10.1016/j.jnutbio.2013.07.008 PMID: 24231099. — Used in: §4.6.
- Park JS, et al. Astaxanthin decreased oxidative stress and inflammation and enhanced immune response in humans. Nutr Metab (Lond). 2010;7:18. doi:10.1186/1743-7075-7-18 PMID: 20205737. — Used in: §4.7.
- Karppi J, et al. Effects of astaxanthin supplementation on lipid peroxidation. Int J Vitam Nutr Res. 2007;77(1):3–11. doi:10.1024/0300-9831.77.1.3 PMID: 17685090. — Used in: §4.7.
- Kim SH, Kim H. Inhibitory effect of astaxanthin on oxidative stress-induced mitochondrial dysfunction — a mini-review. Nutrients. 2018;10(9):1137. doi:10.3390/nu10091137 PMID: 30134611. — Used in: §4.7.
- Shoba G, et al. Influence of piperine on the pharmacokinetics of curcumin in animals and human volunteers. Planta Med. 1998;64(4):353–356. doi:10.1055/s-2006-957450 PMID: 9619120. — Used in: §4.8.
- Quijia CR, Chorilli M. Characteristics, biological properties and analytical methods of piperine: a review. Crit Rev Anal Chem. 2020;50(1):62–77. doi:10.1080/10408347.2019.1573656 PMID: 30810335. — Used in: §4.8.
- Kramer DJ, Johnson AA. Apigenin: a natural molecule at the intersection of sleep and aging. Front Nutr. 2024;11:1359176. doi:10.3389/fnut.2024.1359176 PMID: 38476603. — Used in: §4.9.
- Tang D, et al. Pharmacokinetic properties and drug interactions of apigenin, a natural flavone. Expert Opin Drug Metab Toxicol. 2017;13(3):323–330. doi:10.1080/17425255.2017.1251903 PMID: 27766890. — Used in: §4.9.
- Li BS, et al. Apigenin alleviates oxidative stress-induced cellular senescence via modulation of the SIRT1-NAD+-CD38 axis. Am J Chin Med. 2021;49(5):1235–1250. doi:10.1142/S0192415X21500592 PMID: 34049472. — Used in: §4.9 (laboratory research, context only).
- Borsky P, et al. Distinct roles of urolithin A and spermidine in mitophagy and autophagy: implications for dietary supplementation. Nutr Res Rev. 2025. doi:10.1017/S0954422425100292 PMID: 41404767. — Used in: §4.10.
- Senekowitsch S, et al. High-dose spermidine supplementation does not increase spermidine levels in blood plasma and saliva of healthy adults: a randomized placebo-controlled pharmacokinetic and metabolomic study. Nutrients. 2023;15(8):1852. doi:10.3390/nu15081852 PMID: 37111071. — Used in: §4.10.
- Keohane P, et al. Supplementation of spermidine at 40 mg/day has minimal effects on circulating polyamines: an exploratory double-blind randomized controlled trial in older men. Nutr Res. 2024;132:1–12. doi:10.1016/j.nutres.2024.09.012 PMID: 39405978. — Used in: §4.10.
§13 Review, authorship and disclosures
- Prepared by: Stellar Health Labs. Parts of this dossier were drafted with AI assistance; every reference was verified against PubMed and read by the preparer before publication.
- Independent scientific review of this version: pending.
- Disclosure: This dossier is published by Stellar Health Labs, the company that makes and sells Shilajit Matrix+.
- Disclaimer: These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
- Not medical advice: This document is for information only and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.
- Copyright: © 2026 Stellar Health Labs. All rights reserved. Brief quotation with attribution and a link to this page is permitted.
- How to cite: Stellar Health Labs. Shilajit Matrix+: Ingredient Evidence Dossier. Dossier SHL-ED-SMX, version 1.0.1. 2026-09-23. https://stellarhealthlabs.com/pages/evidence/shilajit-matrix
Version history
| Version | Date | Type | What changed | Scientific review |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.0.0 | 2026-09-23 | Major (draft) | First draft prepared for internal review | pending |
| 1.0.1 | 2026-09-23 | Correction (draft) | Added NSF lot 0132025SHB0001147 safety results to §7 (heavy metals per day, microbials, 96-adulterant screen) and to §1/§6/§11; filled lot, report #, test date and lab in front matter; set manufacturing to an FDA-registered cGMP facility in Texas, USA (Josh-confirmed); updated dossier URLs to the canonical stellarhealthlabs.com domain (site switched 2026-09-23); re-verified all 32 PMIDs OK-MACHINE | pending |
Superseded versions: none.
Appendix A — Certainty scale (GRADE-adapted; published with every dossier)
Rated per ingredient, per outcome, for human evidence in generally healthy adults. There is no product-level composite score and there are no letter grades.
| Rating | Meaning |
|---|---|
| High | Several well-conducted human trials, usually summarized in a systematic review, show consistent results. Further research is unlikely to change this conclusion much. |
| Moderate | Human trials point in the same direction, but there are fewer of them or they have limitations. Further research could change the size of the effect. |
| Low | Human evidence is limited, inconsistent, or indirect (for example, different amounts or forms from ours). The true effect may be substantially different. |
| Very low | Very limited human evidence (for example, one small or uncontrolled study). We can't draw a conclusion. |
| Preclinical only | Only laboratory or animal research exists for this outcome. It tells us about possible mechanisms, not about effects in people. |
Basis: the GRADE Working Group approach (Guyatt et al., BMJ 2008; GRADE Handbook). The adaptation is described openly as ours, not as an official GRADE assessment.